The Cleveland Orchestra
Views: 32

The Cleveland Orchestra

Tuesdays at 8:00 p.m. (April through September)

Music Director Franz Welser-Möst and The Cleveland Orchestra dance through this broadcast season beginning with Stravinsky’s Agon, Ballet for Twelve Dancers and ending with the dance of the seven veils in a fully staged production of Salome. In between, we'll hear The Firebird, Kodály’s Dances of Galánta, ballet music from Aida and Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances.

Christoph von Dohnányi returns to lead the Orchestra and Chorus in Beethoven's Symphony No. 9; Marin Alsop conducts Saint-Saëns’ “Organ Symphony; Robert Porco directs Verdi's Requiem; Ton Koopman presents two baroque concerts; Pierre Boulez explores Schubert (yes, Schubert!) and conducts Stravinsky's Symphony of Psalms. Mitsiku Uchida masters Mozart yet again, and Alan Gilbert—who began his career as an assistant conductor for The Cleveland Orchestra—comes "home" to conduct Beethoven, Webern, Bruch and Schoenberg.‎

Photo of Franz Welser-Möst: Roger Mastroianni